Predicting each division winner for the 2023 NFL season

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

We are still a whopping four months away from the 2023 season, but let’s make some way too early division winner predictions.

I think there are a few divisions in the NFL where the eventual champion is rather easy to pick, but there are some where you could argue that three teams could win.  The NFL is seeping with parity, which isn’t like many other sports, and there’s a solid argument for some 25 different teams to make the playoffs in 2023.

We’re still about four months away from the beginning of the 2023 regular season.  We do have a while yet to wait, but that won’t stop me from predicting each division winner for the 2023 season.

KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI – JANUARY 29: Joe Burrow #9 of the Cincinnati Bengals runs prior to the AFC Championship NFL football game between the Kansas City Chiefs and the Cincinnati Bengals at GEHA Field at Arrowhead Stadium on January 29, 2023 in Kansas City, Missouri. (Photo by Michael Owens/Getty Images)

Predicting each division winner for the 2023 NFL season

AFC North: Cincinnati Bengals

I don’t think this is controversial and I don’t really see a scenario where this doesn’t happen.  Sure, the Ravens and Browns could give the Bengals a run for their money, but Joe Burrow is probably the second best QB in football and has been to two straight AFC Championship games and a Super Bowl appearance back in 2021.

They are the champs until they aren’t.

AFC South: Jacksonville Jaguars

Perhaps the easiest division winner to pick, the Jaguars surprised many by winning the AFC South in 2022 and upsetting the Los Angeles Chargers in the Wild Card round.  They also gave the Kansas City Chiefs a run for their money in the divisional round.

They are going to put a huge grasp on this division with Trevor Lawrence and Doug Pederson for years to come.

AFC East: Buffalo Bills

This is an interesting one.  I could make a case that the Bills, Miami Dolphins, and New York Jets could all win the division, but I’m going to take the safe round and put my chips into the Bills’ hand.  They have yet to break free when they get into the playoffs and I think they are a distant third after the Chiefs and Bengals, but to me, this is the AFC East champion until they aren’t.

AFC West: Kansas City Chiefs

I could maybe make an argument that the Denver Broncos and Los Angeles Chargers could give the Chiefs a run for their money in 2023, but I can’t do it, honestly.

The Chiefs have won the AFC West every year since 2016 and have a firm grasp and don’t look like they plan on letting go anytime soon.  I think as long as Patrick Mahomes is the QB in KC, they’ll either be first or second in the AFC West until he falls off or retires.

They won the Super Bowl in 2022 in what many thought was going to be a down year for them.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse